2024 North Carolina Half Marathon Race Calendar

North Carolina Half Marathons by Date

Browse all North Carolina half marathons in 2024 by month and by city below.

For each race, you’ll find the history of the half marathon and the course, the most recent year’s course maps, elevation profiles, runner reviews, pricing, and how to sign up. When you view a race, you might also find contact info if you’re having problems with your registration or need to contact the race directors.

We dedicated dozens of hours every month searching for races to include in the North Carolina half marathons calendar.

If you happen to see any half marathon not included, contact us at info@halfmarathons.net to submit your race.

Looking for the best North Carolina half marathon for you? Beneath the North Carolina half marathon calendar we’ve provided answers to frequently asked questions.

Upcoming 2024 North Carolina Half Marathons

February 2024

Sat Feb 3 Sledgehammer Half Marathon 10k & 5k North Topsail Beach NC
Sat Feb 17 Run Oak Island Marathon Half Marathon & 5k Oak Island NC
Sat Feb 24 Ellerbe Marathon & Half Marathon Ellerbe NC
Sat Feb 24 Wilmington NC Marathon Half Marathon 5k 1M &Relay Wilmington NC

March 2024

Sat Mar 2 Corporate Cup Half Marathon & 5K Charlotte NC
Sat Mar 2 Viking Dash Charlotte Half Marathon 10k & 5k Gastonia NC
Sat Mar 9 Feed Stokes Half Marathon & 5k King NC
Sat Mar 9 Live Well Half Marathon & 5k Greenville NC
Sat Mar 16 Asheville Marathon and Half Asheville NC
Sun Mar 17 Tobacco Road Marathon & Half Marathon Cary NC
Sat Mar 23 Lake Norman Half Marathon & 5k Wildman Mooresville NC
Sun Mar 24 Cary Greenways Half Marathon 10k & 5k Cary NC
Mon Mar 25 Appalachian Series – Day 4 Marathon & Half Marathon Mills River NC
Sat Mar 30 Craft Beer Half Marathon & 5M Charlotte NC
Sat Mar 30 Only Fools Run Half Marathon 10k & 5k Greensboro NC
Wild Man Half Marathon a Featured North Carolina Half Marathon

April 2024

Sat Apr 6 Catamount Climb Half Marathon & 5k Cullowhee NC
Sat Apr 6 Charlotte RaceFest Half Marathon & 10K Charlotte NC
Sat Apr 6 Gateway to the Smokies Half Marathon Waynesville NC
Sat Apr 6 New South Trail Marathon & Half Marathon Charlotte NC
Sun Apr 7 Coast Guard Marathon Half Marathon & 5k Elizabeth City NC
Sat Apr 13 Charity Chase Half Marathon & 5k Hickory NC
Sat Apr 20 Craft Half Marathon & 5K Winston-Salem NC
Sat Apr 20 Wake Forest Historic Half Wake Forest NC
Sun Apr 21 Flying Pirate Half Marathon & 5k Kill Devil Hills NC
Sat Apr 27 Owls Roost Rumble Half Marathon & 4-Mile Greensboro NC
Sat Apr 27 Run Sunset Beach Half Marathon 10k & 5k Sunset Beach NC
Sun Apr 28 Blackbeard's Half Marathon Ocracoke NC

May 2024

Lake Norman Forest Run Featured Half Marathon

June 2024

Sat Jun 1 Lake Norman Forest Run Half Marathon & 5k Statesville NC
Sun Jun 9 RAD Half Marathon & 10k Asheville NC

July 2024

Sat Jul 13 Sizzling Soles Half Marathon & 10k Cary NC
Sat Jul 13 Wilson Creek Half Marathon Lenoir NC

August 2024

Sat Aug 24 Asheville Half Marathon & 10k Asheville NC
Sat Aug 24 Summer's Done 13.1 Cary NC

September 2024

October 2024

Sat Oct 5 Cary Greenways Tour Marathon Half Marathon 10K & 5K Cary NC
Sat Oct 5 Run Holden Beach Half Marathon 5K & 1M Holden Beach NC
Sat Oct 12 Cannonball Marathon & Half Marathon Greensboro NC
Sun Oct 13 Black Bear Half Marathon & 8K Hendersonville NC
Sat Oct 19 Geyser Growl Half Marathon Black Mountain NC
Sat Oct 19 Ironclad Half Marathon & 5K Kinston NC
Sat Oct 19 Nashville NC Running Festival Half Marathon 10K & 5K Nashville NC
Sat Oct 19 Rootrock Trail Run Half Marathon 10K & 5K Chapel Hill NC
Sun Oct 20 Bull City Race Fest Half Marathon 5M & 1M Durham NC
Sat Oct 26 Emerald Isle Marathon Half Marathon & 5k Emerald Isle NC
Sat Oct 26 Run Ocean Isle Beach Half Marathon 5K & 1M Ocean Isle Beach NC
Sat Oct 26 Triple Lakes Trail Race Half Marathon Greensboro NC
Sun Oct 27 RDC Marathon Half Marathon 10k & 5k Durham NC
TBD Oct Historic Hillsborough Half Marathon & 5k Hillsborough NC
TBD Oct Haunted Half Marathon 10k & 5k Wilmington NC
TBD Oct Haunted 5k 10k & Half Marathon Wilmington NC
TBD Oct Eastbound Half Marathon & 5k Charlotte NC

November 2024

December 2024

January 2025

Blue Ridge Mountains, Western North Carolina home to North Carolina half marathons

Frequently Asked Questions about North Carolina Half Marathons

What are the most popular North Carolina half marathons?

The two most popular half marathons in North Carolina are the Charlotte Half Marathon which had 3,004 finishers in 2023, followed by the City of Oaks Half Marathon in Raleigh has 2,339 finishers in 2023 and the Tobacco Road Half Marathon with 2,046 finishers.

What are the best North Carolina half marathons for beginners in 2024?

The North Carolina half marathons that we recommend most frequently for beginners are the:

  • Charlotte Half Marathon: The biggest and one of the most well-produced half marathons in North Carolina with a great course for beginners.
  • The Coast Guard Half Marathon: Scenic, flat, and fast with a course through the U.S. Coast Guard Base and Air Station in Elizabeth City. A great experience with a lot of military history.
  • The Tobacco Road Half Marathon: A fast course along the American Tobacco Trail well-supported with volunteers and scenic.

What are the best months to run a North Carolina half marathon?

April and October are the two most popular months to run a half marathon in Nevada.

What are the most popular cities to run North Carolina half marathons?

Charlotte and Wilmington are the two most popular cities to run a North Carolina half marathon.

MENU